How did you become a Journalist?

How did you become a Journalist?

Interview with Ed Waters Jr. from the FrederickNewsPost.com
by Andrew R. Spriegel

I read a great story the other day by Ed Waters Jr. about a company that uses border collies to chase geese away from ponds and grassy areas without harming them.

Dog, Dog … Goose
Unwanted fowl are no match for Geese Police
Originally published June 14, 2010

By Ed Waters Jr.
News-Post Staff

E-mail him at ewaters@newspost.com or call him at 240-215-8607.

Click here to read the story.

However, after reading the story  I was interested in how Ed Waters Jr. became a journalist.  Here is the interview that followed:

Andrew R. Spriegel: When did you start working for the Frederick News Post?

Ed Waters Jr: I’ve worked at the Frederick News-Post since 1965, started the night after I graduated from Frederick High School.  I worked as a pressman in hot type for about 13 months, was drafted into service and was in the Marines (July 1966-July 1968) including a tour of duty in Vietnam. I returned and worked as a pressman (the company had moved and installed a cold type system), then worked in other production jobs — plate making, typesetting, composing.  I traveled a lot, did photography as a hobby  and started writing travel and feature articles and taking photos of light news such as weekend festivals, etc.

Andrew R. Spriegel: You mentioned that you went to school part time while working at the paper?

Ed Waters Jr: When Hood College, in Frederick, opened up to male day students (now it is fully co-ed), I began studying in the spring of 1973.  I went part time, took eight years to get a B.A. in communications (journalism, English, art).  I had taken two internships at the paper (worked my nights off from the production department in the newsroom at no extra pay) and in January 1976 joined the newsroom full time. I was still attending Hood College, during the day, working at night and around classes covering the county government for a year, then Frederick City government for about five years.

Andrew R. Spriegel: What else do you do at the paper?

Ed Waters Jr: Along with the city coverage, I also began covering business, real estate and automotive news, which I still do today.  At the time, editors did all of the work from writing, photos, layout, graphics, etc.  Now that is done by copy editors and page designers.  I didn’t plan to be a journalist, just looking for a job out of high school.  I still see myself as an employee of the paper, after 45 years, part of the entire operation and not just a reporter or editor.

Andrew R. Spriegel: Do you enjoy your job?

Ed Waters Jr: I enjoy the job, it is an education each day to meet people, see what is going on locally and around the world. I’ve met a president (Clinton), interviewed other well-known people, traveled and got to to know some great people in the community I probably would not have known if I was in another job.

Andrew R. Spriegel: What are your hobbies?

Ed Waters Jr: I don’t do much photography any more, but enjoy working around my house, reading (histories, mysteries), exercising (walking, yoga with 5-lb weights) and church (I speak each Sunday for a half-hour service at an assisted living center prior to the regular service at the church which is nearby).

Andrew R. Spriegel: Keep up the great work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Andrew R. Spriegel, Andrew Spriegel, business, Ed Waters Jr., job, Jobs, Journalism, Journalist, Photography, Re-Invent Yourself, Reinventing Yourelf, staff writer, You

Leave a Reply

