It was a very bad year that strengthened her faith and grew her business!

Posted by Charisse Louis on January 28th, 2010
ChaRene Graphic Design
http://www.ChareneCreative.com/blog

At the end of 2008, I discovered my parents neighbor had filed a lawsuit against them for cutting down a tree they believed was theirs to cut. Before I realized the seriousness of the charges, I attempted to talk with these neighbors on behalf of my mom and dad. The door was slammed in my face and so began my nightmare. The stress from the lawsuit was too much for my dad and less than a week before the trial, my mom found him dead from a massive heart attack. During the next few weeks, my mom suffered from horrible migraines that I attributed to the stress of both events. Almost a month to the date that my dad passed away, I found my mom unresponsive from a stroke.

Two brain surgeries and months of rehabilitation later, my mom survived! I was told point blank by her surgeon that it was a real miracle she was alive and functioning. Many other strange events occurred during these few months and I was beginning to feel cursed. But amazingly, as the sole care giver to my mom, I was able to grow my business significantly during the worst economic downturn since the great depression. I believe it was my faith that sustained me, kept me going, working and carried me through this intense personal trial. My desire, through this condensed version of my story, is to give others the hope and faith that what may seem impossible truly is possible.

I don’t know about you, but compelling personal stories connect in a way that nothing else can. Stories are authentic and memorable and the story above is based on real life actual events that happened to my family and business. Stories move us emotionally. And since most of us suffer from information overload, a good story can cut through the clutter to grab our attention. In the world of business, where it sometimes seems like traditional mediums of communication are disappearing all around us, a good story is still the best means of generating action.

People will always want to hear about others so why not use the art of storytelling to sell your products or services? Most advertising and marketing campaigns, whether on the web or in print lack valuable content and this includes just about every email campaign I receive. It is important that your corporate message communicate a very clear value to your customer with helpful information that engages and inspires them. Stories that grab your target audience in a way they can identify and benefit from are the best way to sell a product or service.

Your story may be about how people can benefit from using your services. It may describe how someone achieved success from joining or giving to a certain cause. Your story may contain a testimonial from someone else that may inspire. Or, maybe like my story, explains how someone faced countless insurmountable obstacles – personal or business, or even both and overcame them to achieve success. But, whatever the purpose, if you use stories, you’ve got a better chance to reach out and touch someone.

So, how can you put stories to work for your company to connect more effectively with your target market and make the sale?

Other Information:

About ChaRene Graphic Design

ChaRene Graphic Design was established in 1986. Our team consists of Charisse & Bob – who together share over 40 years marketing and advertising experience. From print to web, we help companies identify, and clearly communicate their marketing message. We believe it’s the combination of our business experience and focus, alongside our creative abilities that helps us deliver outstanding results for our clients.

Charisse…
With a Bachelors Degree from the Cleveland Institute of art has a major in graphic design and a minor in photography. Charisse takes a job from copy to photography to design saving clients countless hours of frustration and saving them money.

Bob….
With a Bachelors Degree from Kent State University has a major in graphic design and a minor in illustration. Bob makes our websites work seamlessly and keeps us at the forefront of design techniques and technologies.

Charisse Louis
Charene Creative
330-995-5401
cell: 330-524-5001
http://www.ChareneCreative.com
c.louis@charenecreative.com
http://www.ChareneCreative.com/blog


2 Comments

Filed under art, artist, artwork, Brand, Branding, business, Copyright, copywriting, Economy, Industrial Design, Market, Marketing, Sales and Marketing

2 responses to “It was a very bad year that strengthened her faith and grew her business!

  1. Andrew,

    Since you posted this article, we have gone through a corporate makeover including a new domain name. We had to change our domain name because of a unscrupulous web hosting company. Can you change our links? Our website is http://www.ChareneCreative.com and the blog is http://www.chareneCreative.com/blog

    Thanks,
    Charisse Louis
    Charene Creative
    330-995-5401

  2. ignoriGrile

    Hello. I found nice theme here:
    link
    link

    Maybe somebody can help me?
    Thanks and Bye

Leave a Reply

